Traffic and Public Transportation - Port and Marina
The port of Rimouski
Rimouski’s first wharf was built in 1855. From those modest beginnings, the original wharf has developed through the years and through numerous construction projects to become the port of Rimouski as we know it today. And it is still far from its final form, because many improvements are still planned.
- The position of the wharves provides excellent protection against storms for ships at dock. A 30,000 square-foot outdoor storage space is available near the unloading area.
- Open 24 hours a day, all year, the port is kept open by an icebreaker during the winter.
- Located outside the compulsory pilotage area, which extends from Les Escoumins to the Great Lakes.
- The port is equipped with a fire-fighting unit and potable water supplies, in addition to offering a fuel delivery service. Minor repairs can also be made at the wharf.
- Linked to the main railway system.
Dock Master’s office: 418 722-3011
- Increasing the channel depth along the jetty
- Strengthening and extending the rubber fenders
- Construction of a breakwater to prevent silting-in of the port and the channel
- Installation of a crane and a roll-on/roll-off loading ramp (RO-RO ramp)
In addition to having access to the port authority at any time, visitors are welcomed by marina agents between 7 a.m. and 10 p.m. every day. The marina offers visitors the use of fuel delivery services, public telephones, laundry and showers, as well as a sanitary dump station and a used oil recycling facility.
In addition, the Restaurant-Bar de la Marina has an exceptional menu and is well known for its tasty grill specialties and seafood.
Restaurant telephone: 418 723-5000
Marina telephone: 418 723-0202
On line: http://www.libertel.org/marina/ (French only.)